Best way to create a web-based app to graph temperature data

Consider me a newbie. I'm re-writing my LispWorks refrigeration-monitoring app in Racket with hopes of making it web-based. It needs to draw a graph of temperatures over time, preferably scrollable so we can see anomalies developing. In an HTML environment I gather this is what JavaScript is good for. Is RacketScript appropriate for this kind of task, and is it my best choice, given that I'm writing the back end in Racket? (And is RacketScript even ready for such a task?)

Hi,

The sort of plotting task you describe is usually handled by a plotting library. I’m thinking of things like D3js or Vega-lite. ( I’m no expert so please don’t take that as recommendations of those particular libraries)

I believe RacketScript and Urlang work well with other JavaScript libraries - there are reactjs demos for both - maybe that is a good starting point?

An interim approach could be write a gui client app that uses the plot library, and pulls data from your back end server.

ActivityLog2 is a great example of plot
Maybe this blog post will be a useful starting point:

Stephen

1 Like

Thank you for the leads.

I’m inclined to do the drawing routines myself, since the graph I’ve created in CL does things like indicate day and night, normal temperature limits and defrost times in a colored background. I don’t like thinking what it would take to do that in connection with a plotting library. Plotting the data points is the easy part.

I’ve thought about the client app approach, and that would be an improvement over what I have, but it would be so handy to have the monitoring available hardware- and software-independent on the web.

Unless there’s a clear benefit to using RacketScript, I think the easiest path is to use HTML and JavaScript to access and display the data collected by Racket.

Best wishes,
LW

1 Like

If you prefer javascript I’d encourage you to check out Urlang.