Drawing precisely to pixels using draw-line

Hello, this is my first time engaging with the Racket community. Thanks for being here. Let me know if I should do anything better to get your help on this.

I’m using draw-line to draw (pen width = 1) lines in the hope they align to pixels on a Windows machine.

Depending on where I insert such a line (as a snip in a pasteboard), I noticed that it may or may not end-up being precisely where I expect it to on a grid I'm keeping track of. I read about scaling and experimented with pen widths, smoothing, and alignment scale to no avail.

I boiled down the issue to the code below that I hope you can understand upon reading, or just run it to see my point. I know I might appear like I'm quibbling over pixels, but with many lines it looks very bad.

My question to you is: how could I get my line drawings to fall onto pixel locations reliably in this setting? What understanding or settings am I missing?

#lang racket/gui
;simple line to draw, with size and direction (horiz/vert) and snip-class wiring
(define line-snip%
  (class snip% (super-new)
    (init-field size horiz/vert? snip-class)
    (send this set-snipclass snip-class)

(define/override (draw dc x y left top right bottom dx dy caret)
      (send* dc
        (set-pen "Gray" 1 'solid)
        (set-smoothing 'unsmoothed)
        (set-alignment-scale 2))
      (if horiz/vert?
          (send dc draw-line   (+ x 0) y (+ x size) y)
          (send dc draw-line x (+ y 0) x (+ y size))))))

;windowing
(let* ([frame      (new frame% [label "Imprecise Alignment Test"] 
                               [width 400] [height 400])]
       [board      (new pasteboard%)]
       [canvas     (new editor-canvas% [parent frame] [editor board])]
       [snip-class (make-object snip-class%)])
  ;wiring
  (send (get-the-snip-class-list) add snip-class)

;tests
  (for* ([pair        (in-list '([50 "Lines touch. Good."] 
                                 [100 "Corner has gap. How to fix?"]))]