Intervals: Trivial questions from an absolute beginner

Hi there.

I bought the HTDP book over a year ago as a newbie with no background in programming, gave it a little try, but then had to stop for a while...

Now I'm back at it with plenty of motivation, and I'm over the 120th page by now... Most things went well until now, but I'm still having trouble with some rather basic stuff...

For instance, my program for exercise n° 54 doesn't work, and I don't understand the error messages... I don't even know why there no on-tick function in the big-bang part of the program... Seems to me that the fly function should go with on-tick... And when I add it on my own, despite it not being in the book, it still doesn't work... etc... :confused:

So is it OK to ask noob question about how to fix noob stuff on here, or is this forum more of a pro venue for experienced programmers?

Thank you in advance... :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

What was the error message?

1 Like

Hi

The on-tick is a part of the big-bang form, and the argument (add1 below) is the function that is called on every tick of Big Bang

(define (create-UFO-scene height)
  (underlay/xy (rectangle 100 100 "solid" "white") 50 height UFO))

(define UFO
  (underlay/align "center"
                  "center"
                  (circle 10 "solid" "green")
                  (rectangle 40 4 "solid" "green")))

(big-bang 0
          (on-tick add1)
          (to-draw create-UFO-scene))

Does the example help?

(example from < 2.4 Worlds and the Universe: "universe.rkt">)

1 Like

I forgot to answer your second question!

YES! The Racket community welcomes all learners :racket: :grinning: :heart:

5 Likes

Boy, I hope so, because otherwise I'll feel bad about the mountains of incredibly noob questions that I asked when I was getting started!

5 Likes

I’ll piggyback onto Stephen’s useful example and explanation, adding just a bit that I’ve often had to clarify for my students: