Racket to Rust transpiler (educational purpose)

Hi everyone,

I am new to Racket and want to learn how to create programming languages.
So I worked through the Beautiful Racket tutorials and want to test my knowledge by creating a programming language with Pyret-like syntax.
I also decided that the programming language should be able to transpile to other languages by generating source code (in this case Rust).
So the workflow is Pyret syntax -> Racket parse tree -> Rust source code.
Currently, I managed to get the parse tree up and some Rust source code generation, but some of the parse tree does not generate code, it passes the symbols through instead of evaluating the parse tree.
I speculate that I am struggling with macros and recursion, but need some help.
Are there perhaps existing projects/resources that you know of that I can use to fill my knowledge gaps?

2 Likes

I am new to Racket and want to learn how to create programming languages.
So I worked through the Beautiful Racket tutorials and want to test my knowledge by creating a programming language with Pyret-like syntax.

I also decided that the programming language should be able to transpile to other languages by generating source code (in this case Rust).

The approach used in Beautiful Racket (BR) is well suited for implementing languages on top of the Racket VM. If you want to make a "Pyret" to Rust computer, you can still write the lexer and parser using methods from BR. This will get you a representation of the "Pyret" source as a parse tree.
The last step from parse tree to Rust is best solved with "traditonal" methods.

Instead of recommending a project, I'll point you towards a book:

"Essentials of Programming Languages"
 https://eopl3.com/preface.html

Finally, a small tip: The last pass needs to output a Rust program. Instead of generating and appending strings, generate a free form tree - and then use an emitter to print the tree on the output port.