Racket Web Scraping

Hi, Racket Discourse.

I would like to ask what the current state is of web scraping libraries in Racket, and whether it would be better to just roll my own.

I am thinking about building some functionality to help my team gather IOCs (indicators of compromise) and metadata regarding current malware campaigns and the like. We're quite a small team, so nothing ostentatious, but it would be nice to be able to gather the data and process it into queries/formats that our SIEM and EDR systems can understand, for example.

I can see a couple of salient resources:

But I've never worked with SXML before, so I have no idea what to expect. I probably won't build a bona fide crawler, but perhaps something that can be run once when you come upon a site with some interesting information that you'd like to quickly scrape and process. Our EDR, SentinelOne, has a similar integration/plug-in called SentinelOne Hunter; however, I often find myself thinking that it's rather limited.

As I mention, this is still only a pipe-dream, so any advice or commentary would be welcome.

Thanks!

1 Like

I'm not sure this is the best answer, but no one else has replied yet, so:

I've done some scraping. IIRC and FWIW: I used the html-parsing package, but not SXML. Instead I used xexprs. After quickly discovering it gets tedious and error-prone to "query" these using raw match, I rolled my own tiny system: A select function, with various combinator functions like parent?, class?, tag?, etc., that could be combined with conjoin.

So I could write vaguely xpath style, e.g.

(select xexpr
        (parent? (conjoin (tag? 'div)
                          (class? "some-box")))
        (tag? 'a)
        (class? "some-class")
        (attr-val 'href))

However. I was scraping mostly commercial web sites. So I learned the biggest challenge isn't parsing the HTML. Instead it's getting the HTML in the first place.

• The default User-Agent won't cut it, if you use Racket to fetch.