Scribble-compatible image drawing libraries

I'd like to create images similar to the ones on this page (not the one on the top though :wink: ) and include them in a Scribble document. So these images would consist mostly of text, boxes, lines and arrows.

The Scribble documentation (section "Pictures") mentions two possibilites to directly include images generated by Racket code: Pict and 2htdp/image.

I have no experience with Pict and only very little with 2htdp/image. Since both libraries seem to take some time to learn and use, I would like to settle on one library before diving into it. From looking at the documentation of the two libraries, my impression is that the Pict library would be better for my use case. What do you think?

Are there any other "Scribble-compatible" libraries for drawing simple images (as described above) that you would recommend?

For HtDP, I started with mostlt 2htdp/images and some picts for diagrams. As it came time to publish, I went all pict. So there’s some experience.

Let’s compare:

2htdp/image

• smooth learning curve
  • pretty powerful for a teachpack
  • a “CS1” teacher (middle, high, freshman) can use the code for write-ups and for demos

pict

• somewhat steeper learning curve
  • somewhat different “work"; think (rectangle 100 200 “solid” “green”) vs (rectangle 100 100 #:border-color "green" #:border-width 100) vs (filled-rectangle 100 100 #:color “green”) — the second is NOT what you really want
  • supports racket code (for slideshows for example)
  • more power (drop down and draw into the dc if you want more than pict offers)
  • sharp pictures, ready for commercial printing; relative easy to turn off colors for pict code
    [[ This might have been my lack of understanding all the knobs and dials in 2htdp/image, which is Robby and Ian's even if I added a few lines of code here and there. ]]
  • easily usable for PDF and HTML output (though you should go through SVG and scale differently)