Sequences vs. streams

I read the Racket Reference sections about sequences and streams and am a bit confused. I have a few questions:

• Why does Racket have sequences and streams?

Conceptually, they seem the same. Also, it's possible to convert between the two with (in-stream a-stream) and (sequence->stream a-sequence), so it looks like there are no applications where only one or the other works.

• Are there any recommendations about when to use sequences vs. streams?

My impression is that sequences are used much more often (see all the in-* procedures and their prominent use in the for forms), so they seem to be the default that should be used if one wants to generate values lazily.

• Is there anything else one should know about sequences vs. streams?

4 Likes

I'm new to Racket, so take what I say with a grain of salt, but in my mind the main difference is that a steam is a potentially infinite sequence. For example, you might have a stream that returns the prime numbers in order -- this is definitely an infinite sequence, and not something that you can hold in finite memory. The lazy evaluation is what makes this possible -- values are computed on the fly as needed -- ie, as you recur over the stream, the next prime value is calculated and returned, and nothing more is calculated until you need another

See [1] for a discussion in Scheme

[1] Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs
[2] Structure and Interpretation of Computer Programs, 2e: 3.5 (same content as above but mobile friendly)

Thanks for the feedback.

I think we're talking about different definitions of "sequence". I was referring to the "Sequences" in the Racket Reference, which can describe infinite sequences. For example, there's in-naturals, which gives you an infinite sequence of "all" natural numbers.