Transforming the code to use recursion

Hi all!

I have written a simple program that uses the imperative style to calculate prime numbers up to a given number. I understand however that imperative style (set!) should be avoided when possible and recursion is the way to go. I don't know how to do it though; I'm new to Racket and the whole idea of recursion is new to me and sometimes hard to implement. Any suggestions on how to do it? Here's the code:

#lang racket

(define prime_list (vector))
(define max_number 100000)
(define total_divisors 0)

(for ([test_number (in-range 2 max_number)])
  (set! total_divisors 0)
  (for ([test_divisor (in-range 1 (+ test_number 1))])
    #:break (> total_divisors 2)
    (cond [(= (remainder test_number test_divisor) 0)
        (set! total_divisors (add1 total_divisors))]))

(cond [(= total_divisors 2)
      (set! prime_list (vector-append prime_list (vector test_number)))]))

(for ([i prime_list])
  (printf "~a " i))

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

Instead of using recursion I would use for/fold instead to create/update the accumulators (prime_list and total_divisors).

vector-append is slower (repeated append causing vector copies gives you O(n²) complexity) than cons, so I would use an actual list for prime_list (since you don't know the number of elements before hand; if the number was known you could use (make-vector size) to create the vector and then use vector-set! with index to set its values), e.g. by initializing the accumulator with an empty list, you then can prepend new elements to it with cons, the resulting list is reversed. for/fold's #:result keyword is a good place to reverse the list and convert it to a vector (if that is useful / needed for other code).

You are mixing up two things here:

1. imperative style vs functional style
  2. iterative style vs recursive style