When to use Typed Racket vs Contracts

I’m currently using the Racket wrapped library for C library Raylib and one problem that I’m running into is that when I pass the wrong types to a function the whole program crashes. I’ve never used them before, but it seems to me like contracts would solve this problem. I could create a function with a contract, that then calls the wrapped c function in its body if the parameters check out, preventing me from accidentally crashing my program. But then I realized that’s basically like Typed Racket, so I could just make a Typed Racket Library that does the same thing, and if I decide to convert the rest of my code over to Typed Racket later, I won’t have to annotate the functions saving me work. Also my understanding is that if I used Typed Racket code in an untyped Racket program the annotated types are converted into contracts anyway.

But now I’ve confused myself. Why would you use contracts over Typed Racket? Is there any situation where one is preferred over the other? And what should I do in my case?

2 Likes

Typed Racket is a static check of a specification, i.e. the types of the values are checked at compile time, before your code ever runs. Contracts are dynamic checks: they are verified when the program is running. Here are some important implications of this difference:

1. With static type checking you offload the checks to compile time, allowing your final program to run faster.

2. With dynamic contract checking you can verify some finer-grained conditions on your values more easily. Note that advanced typed systems (e.g. dependent types) allow this to some degree as well.

I have no experience with foreign interfaces in Racket, but from my understanding I'd say that contracts should be able to prevent your program from crashing just as well as types, since the checks happen before the actual function is called.