Why does Typed Racket run faster when `#:no-optimize`?

Hello everyone, I am a beginner who has just started learning Racket. I am conducting some experiments with Typed Racket, and I have written the following code:

#lang typed/racket

(: benchmark-vector (-> Integer Integer Void))

(define (benchmark-vector len n)
  (define x (make-vector len 0))
  (for ([i (in-range n)])
    (vector-set! x 1 i)
    (vector-ref x 1)))

(time (benchmark-vector 1000 1000000000))

I compiled this code using raco make and ran it with racket xx.zo. The runtime of this code is mostly cpu time: 3765 real time: 3758 gc time: 0 (I tested it multiple times, and the difference is not significant).

I wanted to see how much slower the code would be if I turned off the optimization of Typed Racket, so I changed the first line to #lang typed/racket #:no-optimize. To my surprise, the code actually ran faster, and the output times were mostly cpu time: 1406 real time: 1411 gc time: 15.

Could you please explain why this is happening? Did I do something wrong? Thank you, everyone! I love many concepts in Racket and hope to learn more about it!

Additional Infomations:

1. In DrRacket with debugging, with #:no-optimize, the program did run slower.
  2. With #lang typed/racket/optional, the program runs as fast as #lang typed/racket #:no-optimize
  3. With #lang typed/racket/no-check, the program also runs as fast as #lang typed/racket #:no-optimize

The primary optimization being applied here is that Typed Racket knows that x is a vector and so it inlines some of the vector-ref and vector-set! code. Unfortunately, because that code has to do checks for immutable vectors and impersonated vectors, it makes the overall code size larger, which can inhibit inlining elsewhere.

It might be that those optimizations are not paying for themselves right now, or that they could be tweaked in some way.

1 Like

It’s an optimization gone wrong, I think.