Why is lazy faster than memo here?

Hi. I'm new to Racket and I'm learning functional programming. I was reading about lazy evaluation and memoize and I was testing it on this program.

#lang lazy
;; #lang racket/base

;; (require memo)

;; (define/memoize (efib n)
(define (efib n)
  (if (<= n 1)
      (list-ref (list 2 8) n)
      (+ (* (efib (- n 1)) 4)
         (efib (- n 2)))))

(for ([i 10000])
  (displayln (efib i)))

This might be a very noob question but when I think about it, it seems like memo should be faster because it's caching all the previous values that were returned. On the other hand, the actual results make me think I've misunderstood how lazy evaluation works. Of course, using neither does take noticeably long.

Using racket/base and (require memo): 4997268μs
Using lazy and no memo: 299663μs
Using both lazy and memo: 472486μs

Lazy by itself is the fastest. Combining it with memo is slower. Using only memo is a little slower than that. What is going on here? I would also appreciate some links because I couldn't find any resources that properly answered my question. Also would this be different for much larger projects?

Thanks.

Does the #lang lazy variant do what you want? Does it print anything at all to the screen?

Here are my thoughts:

1. If you print a lot to the screen, IO will become the bottleneck. If you want to contrast the performance between many programs, try to print only a few values. E.g. print the sum
(displayln
 (apply +
        (for/list ([i 30])
          (efib i))))

1. With that (30 iterations), #lang lazy takes 1.50s. memo takes 0.13s.

The issue with your earlier #lang lazy program is that the whole (for ...) is delayed, so essentially nothing is computed.

1. From a quick glance of the memo documentation (it’s a user package, so I’m not familiar with it), it supports a lot of features that you might not need. If you write your own memoizer, it could even be faster.
#lang racket/base

(define (memoize f)