Install racket-turtle

hello, would like to install racket-turtle.rkt teachpack.
I have the teachpack folder. Should it be in a particular directiory?

completely new to racket, have a few questions to get started

thank you

1 Like

racket-turtle is part of the teachpacks package available on the official package catalog. You can install it in one of two ways:

• In DrRacket, go to File > Install Package... and enter teachpacks as the package source.
  • In your terminal/command line, run the command raco pkg install teachpacks.

You don't need to manually place files anywhere yourself.

Once you've installed it, put (require teachpacks/racket-turtle) at the top of the file to use those functions in your code. See the package documentation for more information.

2 Likes

thanks. it worked in DrRacket.
A question about the command line (total newbie here).. the windows power shell doesn't know the command raco. should i be looking elsewhere? how to set up if needing setup. thanks

In DrRacket, go to Help > Configure Command Line for Racket..., then restart Powershell.

2 Likes

You should add C:\Program Files\Racket to the path environment variable.

(Side question: Is it possible to add this option to the installer?)

(Edit: @jimpjorps answer is better.)

1 Like

thanks .. that worked as well

finally, for now, what's the most engaging book or tutorial on racket that you've come across? audience: high school

My son liked Realm of Racket, but that was in the last year of high school.

An 11yo once attended a Racket Meet-up in London who i believe started with Quick: An Introduction to Racket with Pictures - I believe this because some of their programs started with #lang slideshow. (When I met them they decided they wanted to decide their own language so

How to Design Worlds: Imaginative programming in DrScheme looks like it might be suitable but I’ve no experience with this.

http://picturingprograms.com/