Racket installation with Nix (Newbie)

Hello,

Complete noob here, learning both nix and starting racket at the same time - might not be a good idea.

I installed Racket using nix, below is my derivation to install it

let
  pkgs = import <nixpkgs> { };
in
pkgs.mkShell {
  buildInputs = [
    pkgs.racket
  ];
}

I ran racket - played around with the repl and things looked good. I ran drracket which resulted in ffi-lib error

ffi-lib: could not load foreign library
  path: libX11.6.dylib

Update my nix derivation

let
  pkgs = import <nixpkgs> { };
in
pkgs.mkShell {
  buildInputs = [
    pkgs.racket
    pkgs.xorg.libX11
    #pkgs.xorg.libX11.dev
  ];
  LD_LIBRARY_PATH="${pkgs.xorg.libX11}/lib";
}

This both installs libX11 and set up the library load path environment variable. At this point I tried drracket again with no luck - same error.

After browsing documentation and blog posts I came to the conclusion that I might need additional changes to the configuration

This is the configuration code/dictionary set up by nix when installing racket

;; generated by unixstyle-install
#hash(
      (doc-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/share/doc/racket")
      (lib-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/lib/racket")
      (pkgs-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/share/racket/pkgs")
      (share-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/share/racket")
      (include-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/include/racket")
      (bin-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/bin")
      (apps-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/share/applications")
      (man-dir . "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/share/man")
      (absolute-installation? . #t)
      (compiled-file-roots . (same "/nix/store/pa9q13354fhxfalyvcd5hlxk4h2amv4b-racket-8.8/lib/racket/compiled"))
      (build-stamp . "")