Racket Mode users: Want to try new "multi back end" branch?

I have a branch I've been working on for 5 months, off and on, that lets Racket Mode work with multiple back ends; this arose from PR 533.

Here's an explanation of the new "architecture".

If it needs more work, I'd like to tackle that... otherwise merge it soon.

If you use Racket Mode straight from the git repo (via straight.el, borg, or otherwise) I wonder if you might try using the rebased-multi-back-end branch for a few days and let me know if you experience any problems.

(If you install Racket Mode from MELPA, I'm not asking you to muck around with this unless you really really want to. Not seeking to cause a hassle for anyone.)

An important point is that it should "do no harm" -- if you don't need any of this stuff, it should work just fine as before. So in any case I'd love to have your help, if you can.

Thank you.

p.s. I'm happy to get feedback here, or on Slack, or on the GitHub repo.

14 Likes

Greg, just to say the work on Racket mode is imo, some of the most important work for the racket community. Thanks for taking the time to improve this. It's very welcome!

I will move to using the rebased-multi-back-end branch and report back.

8 Likes

I know some of you have already tried the branch -- thank you!

I did get one bug report that was orthogonal and we already fixed that on the main branch.

Probably "no news is good news", but... if anyone wants to provide explicit feedback, could you please "vote" below?

• :slightly_smiling_face: I used the default, single back end: Nothing seemed to break.
  • :smiley_cat::smiley_cat: I tried multiple back ends: Worked as expected.
  • :slightly_frowning_face: I had another experience; I'll comment here or open an issue on GitHub.

0 voters

2 Likes

I've been using it since Friday morning. No problems so far, but I haven't tried using remote backends yet.

1 Like

Thanks everyone for the feedback here and elsewhere. This is now merged. :tada: