Self-documented Racket source code

Hi,

Inspecting bits and pieces that come my way I learned that there are no docstrings in Racket. One can write his docs with Scribble (how?), upload it online and even see the relevant docs in an IDE while hovering one's mouse cursor over the function name, for instance.

Suppose I want something like this without hosting the docs outside my project on GitHub. Is it possible?

I already asked Phind, and got a very satisfactory picture:

#lang racket

(require scribble/srcdoc)

(provide (all-defined-out))

(define/doc (add x y)
 @doc["Adds two numbers together."]
 (+ x y))

(define/doc (subtract x y)
 @doc["Subtracts @racket[y] from @racket[x]."]
 (- x y))

It doesn't work, of course, but as an illustration to my question it's quite satisfactory :blush: .

1 Like

Hi, @Tyrn.

I have no particular experience with using the "self-documenting" functionality of Racket, yet, but the docs are great! I have used Scribble extensively for creating general internal documentation where I work.

There is even a section on Literate Programming :grin:.

Edit: I think you might find the @-syntax quite illuminating. It is rather deeper than what I first thought when I first encountered it. It is used in Scribble, but can be used in general also, by using something like #lang at-exp racket at the top of your file.

Second Edit: I didn't really answer your question. Yes, you can host these docs locally, as far as I understand. One can install a package locally without it having to be published in general.

Doc-strings or not. It's somewhat of a question on culture. My impression is that some programmers that use doc-strings are tempted not write "proper" documentation.
They simply generate "documentation" automatically from the source code - which means there is no overview. No thought went into the order of how to present the concepts.

If you want "doc-strings" for your own code, a simple, solution is to add a strings