Should we try to bridge chat services?

I am a total noob when it comes to messaging services and setting up bridges between them,
also people might have various reasons for not wanting bridges between services.
(Bridged messages are often of lesser quality compared to normal messages)

Personally I have only very limited experience (one discord channel bridging to an irc channel) with chat services where bridges where used, however I found that experience positive, because of it I communicated (a little bit and mostly read their interesting messages) with irc people I wouldn't have communicated with otherwise.

I only did a very very short search (so maybe there are other better tools) and found this:

From a rough look it seems to support a lot and is actively developed.

Personally I think it would be cool if every service (discord, slack, maybe matrix) had one chat room dedicated to bridge "general" talk, so the end result would be discord, slack, (matrix), irc bridged together.
An important question is also what the irc users think, would they be welcoming of a bridge bot posting messages in their channel? (I am assuming that is how it works for irc)

Are there people who are interested in trying something like this out?
Are there reasons not to use bridging at all? (apart from the work to set it up and get it working)

2 Likes

I agree! It would be awesome to have a separate channel like #general-bridged that is connected to all services we currently have (discord, slack, irc). I would hope we can setup that integration without adding yet another service though (mattermost) :upside_down_face:

1 Like

I think matterbridge can be used completely independently from mattermost, the way I understand it mattermost is just another protocol that you can choose to bridge to and we have no reason to do so.

Its about states: