What is the best book for learning racket(scheme)?

Probably the most obvious question. Buy do i need a 1000 pager or a 100 pager ?
After a book you need to be productive ...

1 Like

On the scheme side, SICP is free (though long IIRC).

HTDP is perhaps slightly more intro to Racket + programming, but is
still one of the top recommendations (and is also free).

I'm sure Stephen has a wiki page or something with books :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Of course we have to ask you the question are you

• a total novice who needs 10,000 page book
  • an experienced Common Lisper who might get away with a 50 pager?
3 Likes

Hi Alain! Welcome :grinning:

There is some good guidance on the getting started page on the Racket Documentation: Getting Started

This guidance covers both if you are new to programming or if you are already a programmer.

If you do have a background in programming then another approach might be to ask for examples of the sort of things you want to do with Racket?

Some peoples goals are educational; learning about functional programming, programming language design, or advanced programming language features.

Other people want to build something specific:

• a native application (gui or command line)
  • Web application (server or client side)
  • a DSL or whole language
    …or something in between?

Either way, let us know what your goals are and we will do best to help you.

Best wishes
Stephen

PS

The Racket books page: Racket

2 Likes

Is the scan published with permission from the authors and/or publishers?

If I can’t get confirmation I’ll have to remove the post.

S.

MIT Press owns the copyright to these books, and they would be very very very unhappy if they found out.

Thank you for the clarification.
I have deleted the post.

Welcome, Alain! Nice to have you.