Does anyone know of a working implementation of the ActivityPub protocol in Racket?

Does anyone know of a working implementation of the ActivityPub protocol in Racket?

s.

3 Likes

I've been thinking about writing an implementation to use on my website. Would love to collaborate on it if you're interested! I am pretty new to Racket, so it would be nice to have another pair of eyes on the plan

2 Likes

Thanks @jacobhall

I'll admit I'm not sure if this is something I have the time to embark on.

What capabilities would your website need?

Μy understanding of is ActivityPub provides two layers:

• A server to server federation protocol (so decentralized websites can share information)
  • A client to server protocol (so users, including real-world users, bots, and other automated processes, can communicate with ActivityPub using their accounts on servers, from a phone or desktop or web application or whatever)

In addition, Mastodon has its own client api https://docs.joinmastodon.org/client/

I did find an implementation in scheme but I don’t know if it is used and have not reviewed it: https://codeberg.org/WammKD/Guile-Mastodon

S.

Also, this may be well-known to y'all but I don't know for sure: Christine Lemmer-Webber, one of the four authors of the ActivityPub w3c recommendation, has participated in several RacketCons, and may have useful information in this space.

2 Likes

In response to @spdegabrielle above -- I'm interested in implementing the server to server federation protocol.

With a few more pressing projects at the moment, it might be a while before I take a stab at this. To anyone who comes across this thread, feel free to ping me if you'd like to get this going together.

1 Like

In response to @spdegabrielle above -- I'm interested in implementing the server to server federation protocol.